24-70: Ready for anything

_DSC6086

Tamron SP 24-70mm f/2.8 Di VC USD; 24mm; F/4.5; ISO 320; 1/30s. Handheld, VC on.

It’s not often that I’m caught without a camera, but for one reason or another, I’m usually wherever the good light isn’t. But yesterday was an exception to this. My wife and I found ourselves in Sheffield in the late afternoon, as the sky began to glow.

_DSC6075

Tamron SP 24-70mm f/2.8 Di VC USD; 24mm; F/4.5; ISO 720; 1/30s. Handheld, VC on.

We were out with our nephew, so I didn’t pack a tripod or filters, but thanks to a combination of wide apertures, high ISO ratings and the wonderful stabilisation system that Tamron use in their newer lenses, (such as the Tamron SP 24-70mm f/2.8 Di VC USD used here) I wasn’t left wanting.

The 24-70 is a fantastic walk-about lens for towns and cities, where I often find myself using wider angles than I would use in rural areas. I was able to capture quite a few wide shots; a large panorama, and then switch to a  longer focal length to isolate some of the “scenes within the scene”. It’s plain to see here how well the lens copes with extreme contrast. There is some fringing around edges under these conditions, but it disappears completely when using the lens calibration profiles found in Adobe Camera Raw plugin for Photoshop and Lightroom.

Incidentally, the lens is bundled with a premium RAW conversion package (Silkypix 4). Unfortunately, I’m unable to review this for you. Although it is compatible with the D800 on a Mac, for reasons I can only assume relate to processing power, humble PC-owning D800 users like myself can’t use it. For now, at least…

Peace-Gardens

Seven shot stitch. Tamron SP 24-70mm f/2.8 Di VC USD; 24mm; F/2.8; ISO 320; 1/30s. Handheld, VC on.

 

_DSC6087

Tamron SP 24-70mm f/2.8 Di VC USD; 70mm; F/2.8; ISO 320; 1/30s. Handheld, VC on.

_DSC6089

Tamron SP 24-70mm f/2.8 Di VC USD; 24mm; F/2.8; ISO 320; 1/30s. Handheld, VC on.

_DSC6101

Tamron SP 24-70mm f/2.8 Di VC USD; 50mm; F/2.8; ISO 320; 1/50s. Handheld, VC on.

 

After the sun dropped below the horizon, and on the way back to the car, we were approached by this happy chap, who was keen for me to take his photograph (sometimes it’s just easier to yes!). The VC meant I was able to get a useable shutter speed while retaining a modest aperture. This adds to the versatility of the lens in low light (although I could have dropped the ISO a stop by opening the aperture fully – not really an issue with the current generation of image processors).

When you’ve only got a few minutes to shoot before you lose the light, it’s an asset not having to change lenses.

_DSC6108

Tamron SP 24-70mm f/2.8 Di VC USD; 46mm; F/4; ISO 4000; 1/25s. Handheld, VC on.

 

Leave a Reply

