70-200: ROAR Photo Crawl

I met up with Rotherham Open Arts Renaissance this morning for a photo walk around town. We started off in the Imperial Buildings, before heading towards the indoor markets. I’ve never really used a long lens for this sort of thing before, so it required a different mindset, generally involving looking for details, moments or use of colour when deciding what to shoot.

DSC_3876

It’s always worth spending time getting to know your gear, and adapting how you visualise a shot. For instance, I chose the right focal length and set up the lens using the barrel indicators before even lifting the camera for this shot.

DSC_3930

This meant that I was able to shoot candidly, even though the Tamron 70-200mm f/2.8 SP Di VC USD can appear quite intimidating for portrait work due to its large size. Interestingly several of our group were asked to stop taking photographs, but I was missed by security, despite having the largest camera and lens combination. I reckon this is only because I wasn’t walking around with the camera stuck to my face, preparing my shots mentally and being ready before the moment.

DSC_3931

After leaving the markets, we headed up towards Clifton Park. This is certainly more my comfort zone, and I came away with quite a selection of autumnal shots.  Thanks go to ROAR for hosting and enjoyable morning. Hopefully we’ll do something similar soon.

DSC_3937 DSC_3998 DSC_4002

One response to “70-200: ROAR Photo Crawl

Leave a Reply

