70-200: Night moves

The other night I went out with a group of friends from Rotherham Photographic Society to plan a night shoot of the town. While we were out, I showed them my sensor dodging technique, which serves to deal with high dynamic range at the time of shooting by waving at the camera (it’s a bit more involved than that, but that’s the basic gist).  I normally do this when I’m using wide angle lenses (since careful composition can usually eliminate this problem with longer lenses), but since I was out with the Tamron 70-200mm f/2.8 SP Di VC USD, I thought I’d give it a go. It worked quite well since the front element is quite large. 

If you’re unfamiliar with the technique, it involves placing a dark physical obstacle (in my case, a mittened hand) between the lens and the subject, effectively blocking off the brighter areas of the photo. I set my exposure time manually based on how deep I want the shadows to look, and then cover up the brighter areas for decreasing lengths of time while the shutter is open. The camera is then able to build the contrast up naturally, giving a pleasing result that I’ve had creative involvement in at the shooting stage. You never get the same results twice, and it’s a fun way to shoot. 

Here’s a few of the shots that it yielded this week.

DSC_3789 DSC_3792 DSC_3795

And one of the technique in action, as demonstrated by my friend and eager student 🙂

DSC_3786

One response to “70-200: Night moves

Leave a Reply

