70-200: All good things come to an end…

DSC_1542

This week saw my last visit to the birds of prey centre that I’ve been fortunate enough to attend over the last year. It’s been an absolute delight to spend so much time in the company of these fabulous creatures, and to learn so much about this most impressive of vocations.

DSC_1539

For shots like this, I tend to adjust the autofocus slightly. If a bird is flying directly towards me, then I’ll make sure that I’ve set the camera to front-focus the lens. I’ve found that this reduces my chance of focus-related rejects. I’m finding that the tracking speed of the Tamron 70-200mm f/2.8 SP Di VC USD is excellent, and I’ve had more successful shots since I’ve started using it then with any other lens. So if high speed sports are your thing, this lens would be an excellent choice.

I’ve not had much chance to get out recently due to a shortage of days off and current efforts to refresh our house, but the warm weather has ensured that when I have got out, there has been no shortage of butterflies. I used the Tamron 70-200mm f/2.8 SP Di VC USD in conjunction with an automatic extension tube to get the following photos. The tight angle of view meant that a small shift in my viewpoint completely changed the background.

_DSC2360 _DSC2483 _DSC2489

One response to “70-200: All good things come to an end…

Leave a Reply

