So what’s new?

I’ve not been resting on my laurels for the last year. After the end of my last project, I got a promotion at work, and I’ve married a wonderful woman whom my regular readers will have seen before. I took a break from photography for a few months, in order to unwind from the pressures of taking daily photographs with a large volume of people watching.

When Tamron asked me if I’d be interested in taking up another review project, I said that I’d be happy to, as long as it didn’t feel like a challenge. This time around, I’m looking to embrace the enjoyment of photography again. I simply don’t have the time that I did when I started the 18-270mm 365 challenge.

So this time around, I’m to trial a selection of lenses, with a new one showing up every few months. Blogs entries will be posted a little less frequently, and with varied formats. Sometimes you may get a range of shots with an article; sometimes you may just get an image or two and you can check the results for yourself. I’m basically going to go out and shoot when the desire takes me, using whatever lens I happen to have at the time. I’m starting with the Tamron 70-200mm f/2.8 SP Di VC USD, so for the next few months, you can expect to see plenty of wildlife shots.

Untitled-2

Now, to be honest, I was hoping to start last week. However, there was a bit of a delay because of auto-focus failure in the first lens I was sent. It simply wouldn’t work. So it was sent back, and Intro 2020 supplied me with a new copy (very quickly, I might add). Now I don’t want this to put anyone off, because the report from the servicing department was that it was such a rare fault that it’s been sent to Germany for a complete and thorough inspection. Basically, they don’t know what’s gone wrong. But the new lens has arrived, and appears to be in perfect working order. So here goes…

I do already own a 70-200mm lens. My existing one is the Nikon VR II. This means that there are some obvious comparisons to be made, although I should point out that my existing lens is now outdated. Straight out of the box, the Tamron is slightly shorter and stockier than the Nikon model, with a much larger tripod foot. This comes attached to a completely removable collar, which gives it a much cleaner profile than the Nikon lens when it’s removed. The knob which is used to do this is a lot more tactile and manageable than on the Nikon lens, which is a bonus. Straight away, I felt that the lens had a better balance than the Nikon model, although I gather that this has been addressed by the current version, which means that there isn’t much to separate them here.

The biggest difference here is that the focus ring and the zoom ring are in opposite positions to every other lens I own. I’m fairly sure that this will take some getting used to, particularly as I tend to pick a focal length before shooting. However, I’ll reserve judgment for later when I’m more used to the layout.

 

Leave a Reply

