Day 237: Flood damage

Today, I risked the rain. To say it was heavy was something of an understatement. This wood normally drains into a stream only a foot across at this section. I really could have done with my waders for my walk today. Unfortunately, I did find out today how the Tamron copes with this sort of weather (or not, as the case may be). Read on to see what happened…

When the rain started to get a bit heavier, I put my camera into my bag. Normally it wouldn’t bother me, as my larger lenses are all weather sealed, and have survived some tremendous downpours. However, I was a little more cautious today, given that the lens barrel of the Tamron 18-270 PZD telescopes out in three sections. As it turned out, I had good reason to be careful. Within a few minutes of returning home, the internal elements had fogged quite badly.

Thankfully, I did manage to cure this with ten minutes under a hair dryer.

I dread to think what might have happened if I’d stayed out longer or had tried to keep shooting. Clearly I’m going to have to keep a plastic bag or two in my camera bag.

2 responses to “Day 237: Flood damage

  1. Pingback: 70-200: Back in business… | the days zoom past

Leave a Reply

