24-70: Lumsdale Valley

_DSC8857

My wife and I had a rare weekend off together where neither of us had work to do, so we decided to have a night’s stay in Derbyshire. A quick google hunt led me to the Lumsdale Valley, which has the ruins of an abandoned mill set back in the woods. It really was a stunning location, even at this time of year when life is only just returning to the undergrowth. I imagine that in the autumn it’s really something special, and I imagine that I’ll make a return trip at some point.

_DSC8885

It’s on trips like this that I’m reminded just what an excellent landscape lens the Tamron 24-70mm USD really is. Because I enjoy macro photography so much, I tend to visualise shots in terms of longer focal lengths. As a result, 50mm is quite a wide focal length for me, and 35mm is usually my “go-to” focal length for wide angle shots. With both of those classic focal lengths factored into the markings on the lens barrel, it’s unusual for me to go wider, but I think I used the 24mm setting more on this exploration than any other I can remember. Using an FX camera, 24mm is quite a pleasing focal length to use for wide shots. It’s equivalent to around 16mm on a cropped sensor, but without the extreme vertical distortion that you’d experience with that short a focal length.

_DSC8872

The subject choice meant that I used a moderate to tight aperture, so vignetting all but disappeared. There is next to no visible colour fringing, and what little there is vanishes when checking the relevant box in Photshop’s Camera RAW Plugin.

_DSC8917

_DSC8931

Of course, the 24-70 USD is  a versatile walkabout lens, and I was able to use its depth of field properties to simplify the impact of this shot of my wife, in preference to having to include a handrail behind her when sitting in an old window. For those times when I couldn’t alter my distance to change my composition, I was able to select in interim focal length to get the shot I wanted without cropping.

_DSC8864

_DSC8889

_DSC8903

_DSC8934

2 responses to “24-70: Lumsdale Valley

  1. Great collection of images as usual! My favourite is the B&W superb. The Tamron does the business yet again!

Leave a Reply

