24-70: Castleton and Mam Tor

I was up with the birds this morning, and headed up Mam Tor to catch a sunrise. It didn’t quite work out, as it was one of those mornings where daylight appeared without the dramatic entrance. However, it did give me the opportunity to see how the Tamron SP 24-70mm f/2.8 Di VC USD fared up for landscape use.

_DSC5352

The first and most obvious point which affects its use is the size of the large front element. With an 82mm thread, it’s larger than all of its current competitors (which all have 77mm threads). This also means that my filter set won’t work with it until I can pick up a suitable adapter. This isn’t a failing (you’d always have to make sure that you had a relevant filter ring), but it does mean I’m not able to check for things like vignetting at present. However, the large front element means that small rainspots are less likely to show up in the final image, because they take up a smaller area of the image (though this is off-set by the increased liklihood of them reaching your lens.

_DSC5461

In order to make the most of the dynamic range, I had to really work hard to nail my exposure, since  I couldn’t reign it in with filters. However, I needn’t have worried. In spite of some challenging lighting, I was pleased with many of the results of the trip.

Ridge

One response to “24-70: Castleton and Mam Tor

Leave a Reply

