70-200: Back in business…

In the interim period while I wait to source a new camera, I’ve visited my local retailers, Harrisons, and managed to sort out a temporary replacement. So for the next little while, I shall be using the D200 so that I don’t have keep all of you fine people waiting. It’s the baby brother to the D300 it’s replacing, but functionally there’s very little difference.

There’s been a new addition to my family this month, with the birth of my nephew. He popped around for a visit with his parents yesterday morning, and became the first subject with the D200.

Bear in mind, that the sensor of this camera is quite different to anything you will find on the market today. It’s a 10MP sensor which doesn’t have the dynamic range or low light capabilities of my last one. However, despite the fact that it’s now over 8 years old, it’s still no slouch, and is able to show off how well the┬áTamron 70-200mm f/2.8 SP Di VC USD is when it comes to resolving fine details.

_ADW0059

Baby K, taken with the Tamron 70-200mm F/2.8 SP Di VC USD

If you click on the image above, you will be taken to a 100% crop, where you will be able to see every pore and hair on the baby’s face.

It’s certainly a pattern in the Tamron lenses I’ve used that they resolve best in the short to mid focal ranges. There’s a definite sweet spot to be found there, and most of the lenses that they produce seem to make excellent choices for close up work.

Slap an extension tube in there, and things get even better. Regular readers know that I’m a big fan of this technique, and have been really impressed with how well the Tamron 70-200 SP adapts to macro work.

_ADW0009

Honey bee at the RSPB Old Moor nature reserve, using the Tamron 70-200mm F/2.8 SP Di VC USD with an automatic extension tube.

Once I’d had a potter about in the gardens, I headed for the lakeside. I was treated to a visit by a Little Egret in the short time I was in one of the hides, and by using a teleconverter, I was able to close the significant distance enough to get a reasonable, recognisable shot of the bird. I don’t really think that a 200mm lens is long enough for the reserve that I usually visit, but thankfully the Tamron is sharp enough to take a converter without introducing chromatic abberation.

_ADW0046

Little Egret, shot with the Tamron 70-200mm f/2.8 SP Di VC USD and a 1.7x teleconverter. VC on, no tripod.

Thanks to the rugged build of the Tamron 70-200 SP, a little rain doesn’t mean the end of your shoot either. If it was really throwing it down, I’d recommend using something like the ThinkTank Hydrophobia to protect your investment – as I would for any camera or lens – but a quick downpour doesn’t affect it (compare this with the effects on the 18-270). This is largely down to the fact that the barrel doesn’t extend when you zoom, which is the first thing that you will notice moving up from consumer to pro-level lenses.

This – and a generously sized lens hood – meant I was able to stay out while this little Grebe came a little closer.

_ADW0038

Little Grebe at Old Moor nature reserve. Tamron 70-200mm f/2.8 SP Di VC USD and 1.7x teleconverter.

Leave a Reply

