70-200: I’m a shallow kind of guy…

The thing I’ve always loved about long, fast lenses is the way that everything that isn’t focused just seems to blend into an Impressionistic infusion of color. This week, the area around my home has been bursting into colour. To really make the most of this with the Tamron 70-200mm f/2.8 SP Di VC USD, I’ve been working on some panoramic stitches this week.

Poppies

Using a long lens in this way leaves the viewer in little doubt as to the main subject choice. As mad as it seems, there can be such a thing as having too much detail in a shot, and it can be distracting to look at. A narrow focus keeps things simple, and makes things a little different. With even the most basic camera phones being capable of 360° panoramas with front-to-back sharpness, picking a lens that goes against the grain keeps you photos looking fresh and unusual.

Rawmarsh

This is a technique I’ve been using for quite some time, but it’s only recently that I’ve heard someone put a name to it. It’s recently come to the forefront of photography again as “the Brenizer method”, after a wedding photographer who began applying it to portraits, with some really impressive results. In essence, it’s multi-row panoramic stitching. Some images use upwards of fifty frames.  Mine aren’t anything like that size, as my computer would go into meltdown, but using a longer lens compensates to a degree by accentuating the narrow depth of field.

gypsy marsh_DSC0167Of course, it’s not just these that I’ve been photographing this week. I’ve used my teleconverter again to get this shot of a Four-spot Chaser dragonfly. My experience of Tamron’s lenses is that they all excel when it comes to close-range work, and I think that this shot demonstrates that.

I’ll finish up by sharing some more owl shots, and a few of my  cats for the animal lovers out there.

_DSC8718_DSC8732DSC_9449DSC_9454I-_DCIM_109ND300__DSC9416

Leave a Reply

