Day 278: Azure Damselflies

It appears that the warm weather has opened the macro season early this year. Today I’ve seen my first banded demoiselles of the year, a full two months before they first appeared last year. This means I’m likely to have a very productive summer.

Today’s picture came as something of a surprise, in that it’s the first shot I’ve produced from the Tamron 18-270 PZD where the results have outstripped those from my macro lens. In this case, it was the range of the lens that made the difference. I used a 20mm extension tube for this shot, so that I could get higher magnification from a greater distance. That was important for two reasons. Firstly, this pair of damselflies were very skittish. Secondly, they were perched over water. I couldn’t have got closer if I had wanted to. A shorter lens just didn’t work for this shot. Please be sure to click on the image to see the properly resized file, as there’s quite a difference to how it’s viewed here.

Using the Tamron 18-270 PZD, I was able to reach right out over the water, and the extension tube allowed me to make sure that the lens didn’t reduce in focal length as it was focused. It has also resulted in the background softening out.

There’s also a nice little coincidence as well: there’s a remarkable similarity in the shape of the shadow to that of the silhouette of a three-tailed damselfly nymph.

Nikon D300; Tamron 18-270mm PZD @ 200mm; ISO 500; F/10; 1/250s. VC on

Another image after the jump…

Nikon D300; Tamron 18-270mm PZD @ 270mm; ISO 320; F/11; 1/500s. VC on

One response to “Day 278: Azure Damselflies

Leave a Reply

