Day 71: Forest floor

It was very wet this morning, so I packed my waterproofs and headed off to one of my favourite local woodlands. There’s no better time for photographing mushrooms than after (or during) rain. The colours strengthen, and everything adopts a lovely sheen.

There were no filters or accessories used for this shot, just a five second timer with a shutter delay, and a small beanbag given to me by a friend to prevent any unwanted movement. I did a lot of crawling about to find a composition I liked, and at one point I think I saw Noah sail past, but I was really pleased with the results. I shot through another clump of mushrooms to try and diffuse the cluttered foreground.

Nikon D300; Tamron 18-270mm @ 270mm; ISO 100; F/14; 1 second. VC off.

You can see another of today’s efforts below…

On the left is a great example of what is possible with the close focus abilities of the Tamron 18-270mm PZD if you eliminate all vibration from the moment of exposure. Again, no filters were used, by the resolution was high enough to give adequate detail on this fly, less than 1mm long.

Nikon D300; Tamron 18-270mm @ 250mm; ISO 100; F/11; 0.8 seconds. VC off.

One response to “Day 71: Forest floor

  1. Pingback: Fly Mounting

Leave a Reply

