Day 4: Making an Impression…

I’ve always loved the work of Monet. The illusion that detail could be created by just a few representative paint daubs. This is something that I like to produce in my photographs, and is one of the reasons that I’ve had a bit of a love affair with fast lenses over the last few years. Normally they’re put together in such a way as to give round apertures at any value, giving smooth background effects which channel the work of the Impressionists.

Today I wanted to see if this was something that I could get from the 18-270. I found that in the range between about 130-190mm, something quite special happened to the backgrounds, and everything just “popped”. This was my favourite shot of today. Simple and colourful.

Leave a Reply

